Me, Moi, Yo – Who am I ?

Covid Hair cut, saves me going to the hairdressers

A normal guy, left school at 16. Moved to France when I was about 25, been here ever since.


Who am I ? I’m now 63 (2021)
This page is long, bear with me…..

It’s about what I like or love doing. Sports : biking, running, working-out, crossfit, swimming, trekking . Basically just keeping fit.

Playing with computers or gadgets. Trying to help others with details of how thing work in the computer section.

Details about things I do, my treks for instance. Generally hoping that my posts may be of use or of interest. – This page is long bear with me…..

2012
Became my ‘Gym year’. Taking time off biking and spending most days at the gym, still keeping fit, just different.

2015
Became my ‘Crossfit year’ this slowly taking over from the gym. Much better

2017
My mail order company that I created 30 years earlier closed down in November 2017 as we couldn’t compete any longer. A difficult time for me.

2018
January – Finally retired. I had started working at 16 years old and so was allowed to retire at 60.

2018
Ended a bad year for me. Fractured my ankle while out trail running and three days later totally lost my hearing in my right ear. Lost 70% hearing in my left ear with about 90% loss of comprehension of spoken words. I can still hear a little with the left ear, just can’t understand what’s being said.

2019
March, I was kitted out with a Cochlear Implant so I can ‘hear’ again, though this is far from perfect, but I can now understand people when they are up close and in a not to noisy environnement
https://www.minty95.com/11dn

In October 2019 went on my first trek, this is a new pastime for me. It gives me the chance to take of my Cochlear implant and be ‘alone’ in my head, camping or bivouac (wild camping) with a rucksack on my back, who would of thought of it at my age.
https://www.minty95.com/category/treking/my-treks/

2021 Now 63 years old. Ankle though still not perfect is better, I’m no longer trail running, basically because my wife is scared that I’ll re-fall or re-break something again, so for her peace of mind I only do road running, and of course my other sports.

I’m still biking, in fact rather a lot….. mostly my Van Nicholas Tuareg MTB or if too muddy on the road with my Singlespeed or my latest bike an Orange Gravel.
https://www.minty95.com/ymhf

Covid-19 I’ve stopped doing Crossfit and workouts at the gym because of the Covid-19, being over 60 I’m not taking the risque, I’ll just have to wait until it calms down……

Nucleus cochlear implant
My Nucleus Cochlear implant

I’m deaf but not dead and won’t stop

Who am I : I speak two languages, learning a third.
Me – Moi – Yo.
Me, English
Moi, French
Yo, Spanish (I’m trying to learn Spanish. Being deaf makes it a real challenge)